What’s it mean to “know no man after the flesh”?

2 Corinthians 5:16  “Wherefore henceforth know we no man after the flesh: yea though we have known Christ after the flesh, yet now we henceforth know him no more.”

This verse has been permeating my mind recently.  Last week a person who is not a follower of Jesus asked me to go with him to do something in the community.  I’ve gone with him once or twice before to run an errand and I’ve made very small comments regarding the gospel.   When he asked me again my heart was pierced and the Holy Spirit brought this verse to mind.

I might enjoy doing things with people, like hunting or fishing or shooting, but if my primary goal in the relationships is not to lead them to Christ, then I have acted selfishly and foolishly and not fulfilled my God given purpose.

Sunday I preached on relationships and was convicted by the message.  What the Holy Spirit taught me through my study is that there are many kinds of relationships, some good and some bad, but as followers of Jesus Christ our relationships must be biblical relationships.   A biblical relationship is defined as one that, in love, models and teaches Christ with the goal of a person knowing Christ (salvation) and then living a Christ-like life.

Paul truly grasped this truth in 2 Cor.5:16.  He didn’t build relationships with people outside of his making every effort to lead them to Christ.   He saw every person as a soul in need of a Savior and destined to eternity in the lake of fire if they didn’t come to that Savior, Jesus Christ.

Will I go spend time with this person this week?   I don’t know, it is a very busy week, but if I do go I have already determined to not “know “ him “after the flesh, but work to make it a biblical relationship and introduce him to my Savior.

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

2 responses to “What’s it mean to “know no man after the flesh”?

  1. I have had this Scripture going through my mind a lot lately. I appreciate your post. I believe we will see people a lot differently if we view them through the filter of God’s Love and Grace.

  2. Stormie Diana Stone

    This blessed me tremendously, it is my desire to be a light showing the way to Christ as Lord and Savior… God bless you!

Leave a Reply

