It’s Not About You!

It’s not about you, Pat!

Late last week I was listening to a sermon I had downloaded from the internet by Pastor VanGeldren of Falls Baptist Church.   He is a great preacher but this sermon wasn’t grabbing me.  Then I heard him say something like, “In the ministry we need to learn that everything we do should be about God and not about us.”

I had been feeling discouraged about a number of things and when I heard that statement it struck me with force.   It was like the Holy Spirit saying, “Hey, rock head, it’s not about you!” Actually, it was the Holy Spirit.  I was convicted by that simple phrase and have been thinking about it ever sense.   As a matter of fact that phrase found its’ way into all three of my teaching or preaching times on Sunday.

If I could learn to live with this truth everyday, all day, it would change my life, my family, and my ministry.  So often decisions are made based on feelings, selfish motivations, pride, or even fear.    These decisions usually don’t magnify God as they should because they as self-motivated.  I need to change this in my life.

A few passages of scripture come to mind:

Gal. 6:14  But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world.

Php 4:11  Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

Gal 2:20  I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

